Technology can be a threat to the survival of a language, but it can alsoserve as a powerful tool to preserve, even restore languages. Discuss the statement and give your opinion

In this modern era, virtually all aspects of the human world have been

profoundly affected by technological advancements, including language and its use. In this context, technology is believed be a deterrent to the existence of some languages, but at the same time, a protector and savior of languages. This essay will aim to analyze this statement and offer my perspective on the matter.

To start with, there are valid reasons to support the claim that technology may imperil the survival of certain languages. To be specific, thanks to technology, the process of globalization is pushed forward, allowing nations with massive economic and cultural strength to spread the use of their languages through the media. Consequently, while popular languages like Chinese, English or Spanish become more common thanks to the Internet, television or other media outlets, those spoken by minority communities experience the opposite effect. As native speakers

naturally have to use dominant world-class languages for purposes like career, immigration, or cultural exchange, they tend to use their mother tongue less and less. The repercussions of this are most clearly seen in families of immigrants to first-world nations, where the younger generations gradually lean towards the local language to the point where they become unable to speak the language of their

forefathers after just two or three generations. Technology surely has a role to play in this decline of minority languages, and possibly their future demise.

However, technology may also be critical in the preservation, as well as

restoration of some languages. With regard to preservation, thanks to the invention of recording devices, it is now easier than ever to collect data on languages, be it audio, visual, or both. It has never been easier to popularize songs, poems, or other works of literature in a language among its speakers. This, combined with the media being an excellent tool for spreading awareness on cultural identity, will help promote languages for the sake of cultural appreciation. In terms of restoration, there have been successful attempts at studying dead languages by deciphering ancient scriptures and translating them, thanks to analytical technology used by

archeologists. This not only help with linguistic studies, but also allow humanity to explore its historical roots through ancestral tongues. Therefore, technology may be seen as a gift to language.

All in all, technology can be both a help and a hindrance when it comes to the survival of a language. As part of the interconnected modern world, each and every community must strive to protect their linguistic originality, while also embrace the benefits technology has to offer to enrich their languages.