Television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well educated today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is little doubt that providing successful education of children is one of the objectives of every family. However, as concerning ways of learning, some people believe that children’s performance in their academic fields is more unsatisfied than before because of television. In my view, I utterly disagree with the prompt due to several reasons, which would be expressed in the ensuing paragraphs.

Firstly, television is an effective learning method because it offers a variety of programs with useful information. Exclusive of some channel contains violence and pornography which is not suitable for children, nearly all fields of programs are accessible on television. For instance, National Geography comprises considerable knowledge such as biography, medicine, technology and so forth. Furthermore, the latest news and information are broadcast in the international channel as well. As a result, I firmly consent that television is an essential tools for children to learn.

On the other hand, it is important for children to learn by the assistance of video image. As well as the narration of words, combining dynamic image while reading would substantially fortify the children’s memory for learning. To demonstrate, the children get visual input by the television whilst reading the subtitle. Recent research often indicated that visual input would strengthen the connection of neurons in human brain.

In conclusion, as argued above, I am convinced that television is an indispensable method for learning by virtue of its availability of information and serving as an effective learning assistance.