The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion in clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is observed that people are more attracted to and adapt the latest fashions specially clothing and other accessories or goods, owing to their inclination of aping others. I agree with this view to some extent, as people are conscious about fashion and wish to keep themselves aligned with the modern times. Advertising is another factor contributing to this state of affairs.

Firstly, the huge demand for the latest garments and various other products is an indicator of the nature of humans to do and use what others do. For instance, when iPhone was launched a few years ago, the number of users were low. However, today the number of consumers owning the same, has multiplied several times.

Secondly, people are considered outdated and unsuccessful if they do not dress in the manner that others do and keep up with the times. Therefore, just copying what is in vogue, is the need of the day and we see the rise in aping of fashions and other consumer goods by the populace.

Nevertheless, to a certain degree, the aggressive marketing and advertising of clothes, accessories and other products is also responsible for the rising sales of these products. Seeing the celebrities endorse some particular brand of clothes or car, motivates consumers to obtain the same.

To conclude, the growth in consumerism of fashionable garments as well as products used by people, is a reflection of the inclination of man to emulate each other. Nonetheless, promotion by companies also promotes the popularity of fashion related garments and other goods.