The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, news coverage is dominated by reports of tragedies or disasters or problem have been receiving a great deal of public attention. Whether communications should ignore or minimize such events has caused a debate. In my opinion, I totally disagree that this is harmful.

Firstly, breaking news is always about some spectacular events. This may be a disaster, for example, an earthquake, an air crash, or a political event like the assassination of a well-known figure such as the US President Kennedy. Indeed, within seconds, news is transmitted around the world. Occasionally, spectacular event is good news like the first moon landing in 1969. However, the positive developments rarely make front page headlines or appear as leading articles in news reports. For instance, the science discoveries like cures of various types of cancer are results of years of methodical investigation and are not considered exciting enough for the sensational journalism today.

Secondly, when something spectacular happens and is instantly reported. This is a necessary step in calling public attention to a issue. In fact, these news distress to individuals or families affected and to society as a whole but it raises problems which demand public concern. For example, if the media carry a story about a tsunami in Indonesia, this triggers public supports to donate money by international organisations. Moreover, when the media discuss the impact of those issues, its consequences would be minimized in the long run. For instance, a major air crash results in calling for a safety investigation enquiry.

In conclusion, we can not deny that both sides well-grounded. In my part, I still stand up for the media focus on problems emergencies.