in their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

Many businesses these days try to advertise their products as new ones in the market. There is a variety of explanations for this trend and I would argue that this is a negative development.

In advertising campaigns, companies tend to emphasize that their products are the latest because of several reasons, chief of which is that they want to attract the customers' attention. Businesses are aware of the fact that their consumers are likely to be intrigued by new things which are considered unique and different compared to existing products in the market. For example, recently, Innisfree has launched an anti-aging serum which is known as the first one in the beauty industry to use collagen. This new serum has rapidly gained popularity among women around the world and has increased the company's total sales by 15%.

I believe this advertising trend is negative because of two reasons. First, this would disappoint customers if the product received did not meet their expectations. They decide to purchase because they suppose it possesses the latest and comparable features, however, eventually, it turns out similarly to others. This would give them a feeling of deceitfulness and make them squander their money on an effective product. Second, the frequency of advertisements that usually focus on the new could cause a business in a high risk of being boycotted. For example, a drink and beverage company called JT had received strong disapproval from customers since its three latest drinks were all the same as other companies' drinks. JT wanted to have a competitive advantage over other business so it emphasized their drinks are totally new. As a result, their image and reputation were affected dramatically and caused them to be on the edge of collapse.

In conclusion, intending to attract more customers, many businessess try their best to advertise their products as new ones in some way. However, this would frustrate the customers and cause a huge wave of boycott against them.