In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In their advertising, businesses today often promote the idea that there is something new in their products. There is a variety of explanations for this trend and I would argue that this is a negative development.

By advertising something new they have created, brands can increase their chances of staying ahead of their competitors. No matter what product a company sells, there are always hundreds, if not thousands, of similar ones on the market that consumers can choose from. If the company does not inform consumers through its marketing that the product is innovative in some way, it will just be one of the many out there, rather than one that is different and grabs consumers’ attention. For example, in an iPhone commercial, Apple effectively delivers the message that the latest version of iOS allows users to disable cross-app tracking. This new feature which no other smartphone has can definitely help Apple attract new buyers since nowadays people are becoming more and more concerned about their online privacy.

I believe this advertising trend is negative since it can cause excessive consumption, posing numerous serious threats to society and the environment. Take the mobile phone industry as a prime example, where large enterprises, including Samsung and Apple, annually apply alluring words describing groundbreaking innovations, all-new versions, and exclusive applications to attract customers to purchase the latest iPhones or GalaxyS. Such tactics drive watchers such as teenagers and young adults to desperately ask their parents for new iPhones and possessions. This would act as a significant catalyst for a more materialistic worldview. Besides, it has become the norm that customers tend to abandon the obsolete when acquiring new products. For this reason, this trend, without a doubt, generates an incredible amount of waste and has severe consequences for the environment.

In conclusion, emphasizing the newness of their products in advertising is an effective way for brands to stand out from the competition. However, this trend could have detrimental influences on people and the world.