There are many different types of music in the world today. why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays ?

Music remains a vital aspect of an individual's life and is considered a divine gift by many. Irrespective of age, sex, caste and creed, individual's listen to music whatever type it may be.Recent decades have shown burgeoning of various types of music due to which some people claim that the existence of traditional music is in danger. I personally believe that although international music is widely listened to, it is crucial to listen to and keep up with a country's traditional music.

Firstly music of any language or nation soothes one's stressed mind and relaxes their mood thereby bringing about a sense of upliftment. Music serves as an inspiration, a remedy, a relaxation technique and also a source to kill boredom. Some claim that listening to music enlightens them to an extent that they attain absolute bliss. Apparently music of any language and culture, finds its way to the heart of the people. Furthermore, technological advances in the recent decades has made international music much more accessible allowing it to reach the heights of fame.

Suffice to say, being aware of ones traditional music aids in contemplating their culture, values and long held traditions which, these days have become quiet foggy, thus, inculcating a sense of patriotism. This also provide a deeper understanding of their origin and thus promotes a sense of satisfaction and achievement. Listening to traditional music also helps an individual understand the music they are listening to, since its their own language

In conclusion, listening to music, whether international or traditional, is vital in today's stress filled environment. Even though listening to international music helps learn a language and is easily accessible and widely heard nowadays, its high time one started to look deeper into their roots by concentrating a little more on the traditional music.