There are severe social consequences of housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that housing crisis is one of the most critical issues facing city dwellers, and this is associated with multiple serious repercussions. There are those who maintain that these problems can only be tackled by the authorities. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with this position.

To begin with, there is a need for the provision of affordable homes for urban residents, especially those living below the poverty line. This can be achieved by the involvement of the government officials who are able to settle property prices and obtain sustainable building materials. What is more, the state plays a pivotal role in designing and constructing buildings, making sure that the erections strictly comply with safety regulations. If building projects are not managed by the government, there is possibility that individuals or private organizations may ignore safety procedures or use cheap, non-sustainable materials for their construction. For these reasons, only the government can make dwellings available and affordable for its inhabitants, helping to resolve the dearth of houses in municipal areas.

It should also be noted that in order to mitigate the pressure on places of residence, the policymakers ought to come up with new polices or schemes to reduce the rate of migration to megacities. In fact, most people move to urban areas in search of better education or employment opportunities. Major educational institutions, hospitals, companies and other entertainment outlets should therefore be relocated to the suburbs or the countryside so that fewer people will flock to the metropolises. This is a long-term approach that requires the engagement of city councils. Once the state-of-the-art facilities and infrastructures are accessible in the local areas, people would find it unnecessary to migrate to the urban ones, thereby reducing strain on the already severe housing shortages.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that only the government can grapple with the lack of accommodation in metropolitan areas.