There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and have another undesirable effects on people's health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

In today’s rapidly changing globalized world, increasing popularity of car has become one of the controversial questions requiring immediate attention both from general public and from government alike. In what comes next, I will make an attempt to briefly discuss what can we do to reduce car use by people.

As to my mind, I truly believe that if mass media told everywhere how it is substantial for a human body to move as much as possible, people would prefer bicycles rather than cars to commute. As it is more comfortable to travel by car or by public transport than going on foot, people do not think about harmful consequences of sedentary lifestyle. That is why they must be informed about it by local authority or by TV. For example, when TV and radio started to tell how smoking is hurtful, the quantity of smokers significantly decreased.

I also think that government must worry about this issue. If they equip cycle routes, the number of cyclists will increase. In addition to this, because of loss of bicycle parking, there is a huge problem of bicycle theft. For instance, I personally would like to commute on a bike, but I am afraid that my bike would be stolen.

To conclude, personally, I adhere to a view, that people should be just explained that vast majority of car journeys are for less than two miles, that is, distances that can be easily be covered on foot. This way, such journeys can be useful not only for environment, but also for all of your body.