There is an increasing trend of old people living longer in many countries around the world.

Do you think this has a positive or a negative effect on the population as a whole?

Due to the advances in medical science, the mortality rate has reduced markedly in the last few decades in certain nations, especially in the European and American continents. This essay opines that this longevity of age is a negative phenomenon which can have a detrimental effect on a nation’s economy and can lead to job scarcity.

The most significant drawback of having older citizens is the amount of public funding needed for their aftercare. Obviously, as a person ages, they become more vulnerable to numerous ailments such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and eye-disorders. In order to look after the elderly population, the government has to allocate a major portion of its public funding towards healthcare services which, in order words, means reduced funding for military forces and infrastructure development. For instance, the United Kingdom spends about two-third of its budget on the pensions and day-care of its older population which is inhibiting its development in other aspects. In short, more aged population means unequal distribution of public funding.

In addition, increased lifespan can give rise to job scarcity. This is because as individuals would be living for 70 or 80 years, their retirement age would also get extended. When older population do not cease to work, it would become problematic for the youth to grab job opportunities; apparently companies may prefer to retain employees with years of experience instead of novice. Thus, this scenario can lead to fewer work opportunity for the young generation. To exemplify, in Andorra, a county in the European continent, is facing the problem of job scarcity since the life expectancy of its inhabitants is virtually 95 years which leaves less room for youngsters to get placed in corporate sector due to the availability of more experienced workforce.

To conclude, although breakthrough in medical science has improved the life expectancy drastically, it is going to affect the population of numerous states in terms of reduced chances of employment and a biased budget policy.