There is a problem today that copyright materials, such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or bad thing?

There is a discussion on whether or not it is a good thing that the access of copyright materials to be free on the internet, which is not profitable for their owners. I believe that this situation has both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, free availability of copyright materials can be beneficial for newly talented artists who nobody knows them. People usually do not spend money on works that they do not have enough knowledge about their creators, for example, the singing style of singer, the author’s writing style and the level of person’s talent to act in the film. For many people it would be rational to see the works of such beginner artists once, after which according to their interest and criteria make a decision whether or not buy those artworks. Many people cannot blindly trust on works and they should be sure that they do not waste their money. I believe that free access of copyright protected material can be a good chance for new artists to introduce themselves and become in center of attention. This condition can help them to be on the public eye after a while and sell their future works to compensate the costs of their pervious works. I also believe that even professional artists should let users have free access to a bit part of their new works to have a convenient purchase. This because there is no guarantee that all works of one artist can be acceptable.

Regardless of the advantages of free copyright materials mentioned above, there are some disadvantages. We have to consider that one of the reasons of creation of such limitation is that copyright allows the creator to drive economic profit from their works. This financial incentive not only can reward the artists ‘efforts but also can encourage the production of new and divers works. However, by providing free access of such works, it is naturally artists lose their motivation to continue their works, as they do not find their job rewarding and something that can help them to meet their ends. In this situation artists will hurt and they feel frustrated, as they cannot earn enough money to compensate the cost of equipment must be rented or bought.

In conclusion, in my view, it would be better the decision of whether or not the copyrights materials to have free accessible on the internet is left to the owners of works in order to weigh the benefits and drawbacks of such activity according to their status.