There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Evaluation of students have changed a lot over the last few years. Presently, majority of them are getting assessed by it and some by continual tests. While traditional examination does offer some benefits in terms of time, it has some drawbacks as well.

An evident advantage of evaluating by former is that it makes easy and quick to distinguish the intelligency. Pupil who tend to score better grades are often considered more intelligent as compared to remaining ones. Secondly, it offers an opportunity to learn new things, as they are distinguished and unique in themselves. For instance, in subject of science, one test can be on planets and other can be a detailed study of earth. Various researches have found that candidates having better marks have 70 percent more chances of getting their dream job. Hence, this mode of assessment is increasing day by day.

On the other hand, conducting more of it can put students under immense pressure to perform. This can have a detrimental effect on their learning and behavior and may also affect their mental state of health. With no continual assessment in place results in incomplete evaluation, as they do not incorporate parameters of real life examples and related assignments. Also there is limited interaction between pupil and teachers with limited and no constructive feedback. Hence, existing technique should be modified to strengthen the process.

In conclusion, they are one of the easiest way to check the performance. However, judging only by it can put some bright students under the hammer. Therefore, the current process along with some addition of continual assessment is an optimal solution.