Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should do unpaid work to help other people in the community. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought by some, that not all felons should be put in jail but rather they should complete community work. This essay agrees that lawbreakers being able to work in the community can be really beneficial. Firstly, this essay will discuss how allowing them to do this can benefit society and secondly, the importance of doing community work as a punishment.

On the one hand, giving work to those who break the law as an alternative to jail can have a good impact on their community. Many places have this type of program in place, making the workers clean up trash, sweep the roads and paint communal buildings. These jobs need to be done, but instead of paying council workers, using a free labor force in the form of criminals, is one way for them to pay back their debt to society. For example, in the USA it is common practice for criminals to complete 100-1000 hours of community service instead of jail time for minor offences.

On the other hand, doing community service as a way of punishment is a very good idea. This can help improve the environment of a city without costing the municipality a single cent as these services will be provided by minimal crimes offenders for free. This can also be an eye-opener for people because they will be tasked with hard work, making them repent and learn not to re-offend. For instance, an article by the Metro Manila Development Authority in 2014 reported that the numbers of jaywalkers dwindled rapidly when the City of Manila passed a city ordinance that rendered 30 hours of community service.

In conclusion, I agree that those who commit minor offences should be able to complete work in the community, to work hard, collecting trash, painting dilapidated buildings and sweeping the roads as a form of punishment. Helping the community should be their way of repaying their debts and learning not to re-offend.