These days, people change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It goes without saying that our modern society is in a state of flux with new ideas and ways of thinking replacing old ones. Changes, tangible and intangible; visible and invisible; big and small; for the better or worse, have become a defining feature of our world. Among those changes, one that not only personally affects me but also prompts me to examine underlying factors is people's shifting perception with regard to the career-building path for working adults and youths soon to enter the workforce. Many, or perhaps, as late as 20-30 years ago, cases such as employees hopping from one company to another do not total up to a huge number. Nowadays, it has become quite normal for an individual to move to 'greener' pastures. Although some asserts that this increasingly accepted attitude does not yield best outcomes for everyone, I am of the opinion that changing career several times in life comes with both advantages and sometimes undesirable outcomes.

Looking at the against side of the argument, disadvantages an employee might possibly incur from shifting jobs often include failing to attain a high level of knowledge in a specific line of work or knowledge. Humans(except clever ones) do not learn skills in a short span of time. Researchers have said that a worker takes at least six months to be able to perform his/her duties to the satisfaction of seniors. In STEM jobs(Science,Technology, Engineering and Maths), it would probably take a minimum 3 years for a person to be skilled at what the job requires. Considering the aforementioned necessity of remaining in one company to acquire skills, it is only natural that employers and companies may hesitate to hire one with a history of changing jobs more than usual. In addition to hiring managers' worry over whether the job applicant has skills under the belt, they will also have doubt on how long he is going to stay and contribute to the growth of the firm.

On the other hand, those who hold in positive light the concept of people changing career several times have some convincing counter arguments as well. In some cases such as manufacturing, people who have worked in different companies with varying working styles can introduce new ideas and plans. Progress is achieved when active exchange of ideas and experiences happen at individual and corporate levels. Bearing that in mind, I can see why changing careers will bring about net positive developments for employees and employers alike in the long term.

In conclusion, as demonstrated above, switching jobs often has two faces. My personal opinion is that it is up to an individual to decide what is best for him/her because what works for one person may not work for another. What we should pay more attention to it is to help people develop their skills and fulfill their potential wherever they work for the betterment of companies, individuals and eventually society at large.