These days, people work in more than one job, and often change career several times during their live. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, the changes in global economy and social conditions has lead the ones in people life and work. It is said that the number of people working in more than one job and switching work several times has been increasingly popular. Obviously, there are a lot of benefits of this toward workers, but it’s necessary for people to consider its drawbacks.

First of all, let’s begin by look at the advantages of changing work. One of the main positives of this is that people can gain myriad valuable experiences through career path and help them to find out exactly what kind of job they want to work. Needless to say, the process of changing career helps build comprehensive skills that allow people to cope with challenges in work and develop their own career. Moreover, switching the fields of work also means changing work environment, property of work, so might reduce the work slump situation. Evidently, according to a recent statistic, 90 percentage of people in UK have gotten into a work slump because of sticking in sedentary job. Obviously, after that, workers are able to understand themselves, determine what they really want to do and eventually effort to pursue their dream.

On the other hand, this trend can causes many problems and much pressure as well. It is clear that in this process, people have to spend time and money to achieve their goal instead of for others, which is called opportunity costs. Obviously, it can be more difficult for people to look at their friends who has worked stably. In fact, changing career means starting something from the scratch, so there are many risks and they have to be under the pressure from family and friends as well.

In conclusion, despite opportunity costs and pressure in the process of changing career, the valuable experiences and extended horizons that it brings us is much more meaningful in our lives. Personally, I strongly believe the advantages of it in terms of personal gains outweigh any negatives.