“Traditional holidays are getting more and more unpopular among the young generations.”

Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

OR: what extent do you agree/disagree with the statement? Give specific reasons and examples for your argument so that any non-experts in the matter can understand that.

Different countries in the world create their own local culture, including traditional holidays when the remarkable events are celebrated and commemorated throughout the history of formation and development. It’s stated that nowadays there are many a people neglect and are not interested in these important occasions, especially the young generation. From my point of view, I completely agree that traditional vacations are becoming unpopular with the young-age group because of two reasons: some of these traditional holidays might be changed and buried in oblivion; and living in the too busy life and in the age of development of modern technology also lead to the apathy of individuals as well.

First and foremost, nowadays the meanings of cultural vacations are shifted dramatically and fallen into oblivion. In practice, some people may think that thanks to the progress of science and technology and economic development as well, the preservation and promotion of cultural traditions are becoming more and more easy. Obviously, the advancement of these excellent conditions has contributed to the positive impact on the maintenance of national culture. However, the disguise and oblivion of folk customs are unavoidable over time, especially the changing of traditional holidays’ meanings. In most cases, people tend to consider for other purposes of these important occasions instead of caring the actual nature of them. For examples, there is a lot of people taking personal advantages of these holidays when you can find soaring prices such as food prices, service fees and transport costs, …Also, sometimes people may participate in cultural activities because of current trends which are followed rapidly by the young generation like they crowd to go to the famous temples and trendy destinations or even conflict to each other to get the fortunes in Tet holidays. Therefore, the meanings of these cultural vacations are not kept completely intact as ever. Apparently, changing of the nature of traditional holidays is the reason why they are less popular among people.

Finally, people’s unmindful of traditional holidays is ineluctable because of the development of modern technology, especially in too busy life. Indeed, lots of individuals have difficulties in managing time in a day to solve their problems effectively, so they usually do not pay much attention to traditional holidays. Furthermore, the high technology, by which people usually release stress and become less tense, is becoming more and more popular. For instance, busy people who usually have heavy workload only care about how many break days in the traditional vacations without think of meaning and celebrating activities through these occasions. Specifically, lots of people expect the long break duration in Tet holidays to travel or discover famous destinations in stead of joining in traditional events. Also, people are often attracted by high-tech equipments by which they may spend more time in relaxing and entertaining. Particularly, nowadays children prefer spend their time in watching TV or playing video games to searching related information of traditional activities in cultural holidays. In a nutshell, living in a strellful and busy life with the advancement of modern technology are two important factors which lead to unpopularity of traditional holidays.

As discussed, the changing of traditional holidays’ significance and the rapid development of high technology evidently influence on people’s lives, on the way they think about these important vacations and on the level people pay attention on them as well.