Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is true that people’s life have been significantly changed by the rapid developed science and technology such as internet and AI. Some people believe that contemporary artists, especially musicians, painters, and writers, should not be undervalued nowadays. This essay explores the benefits bought by arts which cannot be gained from science and technology.

Firstly, some people believe that some forms of arts such music can afford us feelings and emotions, whereas science and technology cannot due to its focus is on practicality. For example, an audience can indirect experience and have a feeling of melancholy from Beetoven’s pieces which were composed while he was suffering unfortunate events. In contrast, science and technology cannot offer the same kinds of feelings.

Moreover, some people would argue that a some forms of arts can inspire people and make them think and help them connect themselves to the reality, which advanced technique cannot provide. For instance, people may take a visit to a photo exhibition of the daily life of children who live in a third world and they would think about how fortunate they are compared to the underprivileged counterparts in other poor countries. And they will value what is given to them and be inspired to treasure everything around them. And again, pure science and technology cannot make people think this way due to their concept is based on structures, formulas and trial and errors.

In conclusion, science and technology are essential to human beings in society and play an important role in 21st century. However, contemporary artists such musicians, painters and writers also should be widely respected as the arts they create can offer people feelings and inspiration that the science and technology cannot ever provide.