Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, advertisement has emerged as a way of flourishing the business. From the touch of smartphone to the television, we see advertisements of consumer goods everywhere. Some people believe that recent increase in the sales of such products is due to advertisement rather than actual need .In my opinion it is true. Analyzing the psychological aspect and creating an urgency or need by advertisement will prove our point.

Firstly, a famous salesman Jordan Belford said “the key to sales is to create a need”. Media today is the perfect example of this saying. For example an increase in pizza commercials during sports events depicting the need to eat and ease of getting it delivered at home within ten minutes is creating an urgency to buy the stuff. This is in turn coupled with low prices due to the strong competition making it an easy choice for the consumers to order from the comfort of chair. All thanks to power of advertisement.

Secondly, media and advertisements help to highlight certain aspects of product that people had not thought about. Showing the display of convenience and giving free trials make the people believe that they actually need the product. For instance the company Samsung had advertised its new flagship phone months before actual release giving the consumers first hand experiences and demos thus creating a desire to either pre order or get the phones once they are in stores. Thus such strategies help companies to boost their sales.

In conclusion, the psychological impact of advertisement helps to influence people to buy product regardless of need. In my opinion the high sales of consumer goods is due to advertisement. In future however strong legislation regarding advertisement need to be established for the protection of consumer rights.