Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the society in which they are sold.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is sometimes argued that whether the high selling of mass consumption are influenced by the effect of advertisement or the real needs of the consumers. In my opinion, our consumption behavior are deeply shaped by modern advertising.

So far, the advertising industry has changed our shopping habits in many ways. Firstly, we received much more advertisements than before. There are numerous mass media helping companies to sell products, such as TV, radio, even films. Secondly, brand building combines the goods with some specific meanings, such as popularity, richness, kindness and fashion. Finally, the relation between people and things becomes different. Who we are depends on whether we own some kind of things or whether we can afford to buy it.

Our society structure builds our behaviors of shopping invisibly. The amount of goods exceed our real needs causes several physical problems of individuals, resulting the feeling of worry and nervousness. Some people make a resolution to deal with lust for things, and others follow the pioneers. For example, a program where a Japanese housewife teaches family to throw away things gets popular in the past years. Besides, another trend called Minimalism, which was launched by two middle-aged white men have a wide and effective influence around the world. The ethos of minimalism is owning minimal things that you need.

In conclusion, the modern industry of advertisement has numerous powerful ways to sell products to consumers even if they don't really need them. Luckily, human are not in control of advertising and marketing completely. We can control ourselves with resolution and reasonable methods.