In many countries, people do not recycle their rubbish as much as they could. Why do you think this is? What can be done to change this?

Under the background that become global problems, the reutilization of recyclable resources such as paper, glass and some kinds of metal remains low level in dozens of countries and regions. The whole process involves lots of participants, including individuals, private companies, Department of the Environment and government and there are many measures to improve each step from garbage collection to reusing the new materials.

It’s not only residents’ but also society’s fault about insufficient resource recycling. To begin with, as for residents, most of them haven’t taken the problem of wasting materials seriously. The amount of good which they purchase exceeds their true needs, resulting severe waste. Besides, they don’t follow the rules of garbage classification strictly. On the side of factories, they lack the advanced technology to process the materials properly. Finally, not every government imply feasible policies to push the development in this field.

We should regard the recycling of waste materials as a whole and try different methods to cope with different problems respectively. First of all, we are supposed to strengthen the citizens awareness of environmental protection. For example, Japanese children start learning the rules of garbage collection since they are in the kindergarten and the communities will give out leaflet with explanation and illustration in details. The second point is that governments allocate more budget on building more refuse processing plant and upgrade processing equipments and machines.

After having discussed the most pertinent points about this issue, I’m convinced that human beings have the ability to solve the current problems and recycle waste materials better than before, while we can’t ignore the barriers on the way to achieve the goal, including the unawareness of people and backward processing technology.