Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe what gives rise to the craze of popular products is the development of marketing strategies rather than the demands of society. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I partly agree with this idea due to the following explanations.

On the one hand, some products gain ground on the market because of the marketing’s power. In fact, the annual releases of smartphones epitomise this statement. The repetitive advertisements that spring up before the new release have driven people crazy every year. Consequently, a huge number of end-users have been queuing in line just to buy the newest products, although the outdated one still functions well. It is the same case with fashion-conscious individuals. The overconsumption of clothes is also caused by the power of advertising.

On the other hand, as qualities of the goods satisfy the society’s needs, they are purchased by most people. For instance, when a buyer decide which car model to purchase, he or she is likely to consider the eco-friendly values or safety criteria. If that model reaches these standards, it will be the first choice of buyers and become more prevalent. In the case of smartphones mentioned above, undeniably, there are individuals who would buy a device simply because of their needs, such as battery capacity or camera resolution. As long as a mobile satisfies end-users’ requirements, people are more likely to opt for it notwithstanding the novelty.

In conclusion, while advertising might be a factor that results in the spread of consumer products, the demands of society also play a pivotal role in this situation. Therefore, the statement that the popularity of consumer goods demonstrates the marketing’s power is not accurate under any circumstances.