Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Genetic engineering is unquestionably a significant problem and many people differ on the idea that whether this technology will be threatening or beneficial to people’s lives. Although there are good arguments for both views, I believe the latter is more cogent.

In terms of threat, genetic engineering is believed to compound inequality problems. First, some people think that this technology could reinforce inequality between individuals. I would argue that the ability to examine a person’s gene provided by the technology is likely to create the label of good traits and bad traits amongst different people. This labelling phenomenon encourages many people, such as employers to treat employees differently by the given labels but not by their contributions or talents. Second, intervening in the human genome can be abused to create a biologically advantageous human being who performs well and achieves higher socioeconomic status easily. This prediction is especially true when well-off individuals can afford to do this while the underprivileged cannot because of the expensive cost. Consequently, it further widens the gaps between the rich and the poor.

In the case of benefits, genetic engineering plays a pivotal role in the advancement of medicines and agriculture. First, this technology might help doctors detect and treat a range of inherited diseases, most of which are incurable now. For example, the procedure of screening for Down Syndrome can be carried out in almost any hospitals, and this is a result of the research into human genes. Besides, Research into the cure for cancer has been showing progress. In the future, many cancer patients are expected to be completely cured by these treatments, and this means that their quality of life is greatly improved. Second, genetic engineering has laid a foundation for genetically modified food. These farm products’ nutritional value is increased, such as vitamin A. It can help tackle malnutrition problems of citizens in remote areas who do not have access to primary healthcare. Modifying genetic materials might also result in a higher yield of crops. Consequently, a rise in food production will minimize the damage of famine.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the inequality issue, the importance of genetic engineering in medical and agricultural fields is undeniable. Therefore, I strongly advocate the idea that this technology will benefit our society.