Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. What are the reasons for this and is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that a wide range of children devote much time to play computer games while they spend less time doing exercise. From my perspective, I believe this is overall a negative trend.

There are two primary reasons why the young generation more and more spends their time focusing on computers. Firstly, advertising for computer games gains in popularity which means that advertisement manipulates young people with attractive images of computer games. Secondly, the more children are younger, the more they have opportunities to access to computers as parents earn more money in today's society and this leads to the fact that they spend more budget for their children. For example, there is a vast majority of children having their own computers was recorded all over the world in 2018.

I completely believe this is a negative development in contemporary society. This typically spotlights that computer games are time-consuming which means that computer games cause young people to decrease their academic performance. Furthermore, if the young generation concentrates their life on playing games, they will have less time for their family which means that this problem will rise insensitivity in children these days. In addition, the more children spend their time playing computer games, the more they suffer from eye-related syndromes and obesity because they have to sit in front of computers in a long time. For instance, scientists launched a full-scale investigation into the main factors influencing obesity in Vietnam and found that playing computer games is one of the reasons causing this problem.

In conclusion, all the existing reasons provide a concrete foundation that the proclivity of spending more time playing computer games than doing exercise of children may result in a wide range of adverse effects, and thus, is a negative issue in today's society.