Today in many countries, people are living in a “throwaway” society where things are used for a short time and then thrown away.

What do you think are the causes and what problems will it lead to?

(Write at least 250 words)

In contemporary society, there is an opinion that humankind is living with a wasteful lifestyle, in which things are thrown away after being used just for a short period of time. The following paper will be looking at the roots of this worrying trend as well as examine the potential issues that throwaway lifestyle may lead to.

To begin with, there are several reasons associated with the fact that some individuals get rid of their belongings despite only using these items for a few times. First, people often dispose items that are mass-produced and comes with a cheap price. For instance, plastic bags and bottles are manufactured in a large-scale and tagged with incredibly cheap costs. Hence, for some people, these items are no longer useful after being used once and should be thrown away. Another noteworthy reason is that a considerable number of people, often females, are believed to be wasteful. To elaborate, these people are appearance-conscious as they pay a lot of attention to how they appear in public. As a result, it can be seen that these people have a tendency to throw away, give away or sometimes resell their clothes after wearing once or twice because they may have a strong desire to look differently every time they show up in public places.

Apart from the abovementioned reasons, a number of problems can be anticipated when people start to throw their items away after a short time of using. A noticeable problem would be financial burdens. To explain, those who tend to get rid of their items, such as clothes, and purchase new ones in hope of having an impressive look in front of others have to deal with financial issues as they may have to spend their budget to buy new clothes. More importantly, if these individuals come from middle or even lower class in society, they will definitely suffer from financial debts as a consequence of this habit. Furthermore, one major problem of throwing things is that it can lead to severe environmental pollution. In other words, non-biodegradable items, such as plastic-wrapped products, can jam water system, causing water pollution once the amount of garbage become excessive if people dispose their plastic trash inappropriately.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that “throwaway society” can happen because of people’s habit of throwing mass-produced items and buying new things to take care of their appearance. Moreover, this trend might potentially cause financial and environmental problems for individuals and society respectively.