Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the number of people using mobile phones and computers is increasing. While I accept that this may lead to the loss of the ability to communicate face to face, I believe that there are still a great number of advantages.

On the one hand, more and more people are using mobile phones and computers thanks to their significant benefits. Firstly, these electronic devices enable users to communicate over long distance. For example, in the worlds of business and education, video conferencing allows people to exchange ideas and give feedback without travelling across the world. Also, they are more quickly than sending handwritten letters. In case of emergency, a person can contact easily to his friends or relatives by making a phone call or sending messages.

On the other hand, phones and computers can cause the downfall of face-to-face communication. One reason is that people may become over- reliant on these devices. For instance, people always chat with others by using user- friendly appliances such as Facebook, Skype,.. Consequently, they will lose interaction skills and the ability to manage conflicts, which would lead to a breakdown in communication. Furthermore, everyday people spend a large amount of their time using phones and computers. They frequently spare their free time keeping their eyes glued to the screens and rarely talk with other family members. As the result, they can not expect to build strong relationship and live in harmony with one another.

In conclusion, although technology devices bring lots of benefits, it is certainly true that they can have a negative impact on people’s capacity to communicate face to face.