Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that foreign visitors pay more visits to museums and historical relics than local residents. There are several reasons for this problem and various measures could be taken by governments to attract locals to these places

Museums and historical sites are preferred more by tourists than residents because of some reasons. One reason is that museums are too familiar to nearby inhabitants. Most of residents hace been growing up in their areas. As a result, they do not curious or interest in these places. Furthermore, entrance tickets at some historical sites are expensive for the inhabitants to afford. For instance, in mountainous areas of Vietnam, many people find it rather hard to make ends meet, let alone to spend a large amout of their money on visiting famous historical attractions there.

Fortunately, there are a variety of steps could be taken to takle this issue effectively. Firstly, museums should be invested in more by authorities to refresh the exhibits. If a museum can create new exhibitions every season, it will be more appealing to citizens. Secondly, historical attractions need to be free for all the local people. Free tickets give locals countless opportunities to get access to historical sites easily, which help them to broaden their knowledge about their hometown without worrying about additional expenditures.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are some reasons why museums and historical places are mainlu frequented by foreign travelers. However, various steps can be taken to attract more visitors from the local areas.