Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

The international tourism industry is booming right now. People like to visit countries with diverse culture and monumental places. Many countries have a very rich ancient heritage and therefore are subject to a popular tourist place. The sad truth behind this is that these places are usually not visited by the local people. This essay states some techniques on how to help this situation.

The reason for the locals not visiting these heritage places can be felt by many. These historical heritage sites and museums are not new for the local people. They are brought up in the surroundings of these sites. There are a lot of lucrative opportunities for making money from foreign tourists rather than visiting it. The fees are usually higher compared to the average income and reducing the entry fees can help attract more local people to visit the museums and other heritage places. Taking India as an example, the Indian government reduced the entry fees for Taj Mahal visit to zero, making it basically free. This decision resulted in a boost in local visitors from around the Taj Mahal.

To help solve this situation, the Government should launch a campaign specifically for the local public. The local public may have seen the museum many times but may not realise the historical importance revolving around it. These campaigns can help people understand the vital role of these museums and heritage sites in developing the overall land area. Ultimately, this will lead to an increase in local visitors to these landmarks.

In Conclusion, raising awareness about these places to the locals and reducing the visiting fees can significantly increase the local visitor count.