In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this 21st century, we have mostly moved on from the stereotype of the mum always being the ‘stay at home parent’. Modern competitive life has placed such a financial burden on couples, and forced them to both work out of the home to meet with the increasing costs. Whilst some remain skeptical about the negative impacts of parents’ absence on children upbringing, I contend that the extra earnings would definitely aid their offsprings for a more secure future.

Having both parents work outside the home can cater various problems. At first, children may not receive enough parental care and attention. There might be a sense of guilt or concern over the child's diminished access to a parent as the busy lifestyle at work often makes parents unavailable to their kids, and unless they manage to harmonize the family and work life together, it would definitely decrease interaction and somehow harm family bondage. In a simple word, parents who are under tremendous time pressure are not sensitive enough to notice any changes in teenagers’ spiritual health and thus, unable to share their story or support them with their homework. As a result, they may feel more distant from their birth givers and become isolated, abandoned or even autistic. In addition, it is also proven that toddler’s, whose parents are never at home, are more prone to behavioral problems as they have more freedom to indulge in several social evils such as game-addition or underage drinking. That is to say, the adverse emotional outcomes in children are significantly associated with parental absence.

At the same time, having more than one breadwinner in a family can put children in an advantageous position for a number of reasons. The first benefit, undoubtedly, is a better standard of living thanks to additional income. Job holder parents can afford to provide the kids with more luxuries, whether it be expensive clothes, toys or learning materials. Children in these cases are more likely to approach better educational opportunities, better medical service, and so forth. Also, families can take more frequent vacations that are nicer and longer than they might otherwise be able to afford. Needless to say, two-income families enjoy better financial footing and are not immune to worrying about the family's money situation, bringing about a peaceful environment for children to grow up in. Another benefit would come from the emotional side since adolescents with working parents tend to be much more confident and independent. Offsprings in lack of parental support have to be accountable and learn the value of flexibility, to adapt to and respect other adult authority figures who supervise them as well, which helps to foster socialization. By being encouraged to take care of themselves and complete household chores from a young age, they pick up valuable life skills early and continue to use them throughout their lives. Moreover, on observing the work of their parents, children are about to have a better understanding about the world of careers, becoming familiar with workplaces and are not too worried when it comes to future orientation. Last but not least, when parents get out of the house more often due to work, not only do their children start seeing the value of them supporting the family, they also begin to value the time being together, in this case, it is quality over quantity.

From the above-mentioned reasons, I personally hold the idea that children stand to benefit from families that choose to pursue dual income streams as today household and supervisory roles are divided between all adults in the family and even kids when they get to the right age. Nevertheless, parents should make balance between work and family affairs, then their children’s development is certain to be guaranteed.