For many people, the reason they work hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that financial gains are the motivation for the workforce to work industriously. I am in total disagreement with this opinion as workers are influenced by changes in the job market and feminism instead of perks.

The emerging trend in the labor market has driven people of different ages to increase their productivity. In recent years, work efficiency rather than years of experience decides the shortlist of candidates for promotion in companies. As a result, with their fast adaptability to changes, young employees take on various responsibilities in projects to be considered for managerial roles. Facing the relentless competition from young colleagues, senior workers are left with no choice but to exploit their experience to the fullest and learn new skills in various assignments, or else they may be made redundant

Feminism is also attributed to the increased time and effort each sex spent on work. As the 21st century unfolds, women are given a wide range of job opportunities aside from being housewives. However, biases still exist, regarding females as the weaker sex and being inferior to males. Working industriously and having excellent performances at work is one of the ways for women to confront gender discrimination and solidìy their positions in society. Additionally, Male workers are also challenged by the appearance of female counterparts in fields that were once exclusive to men such as science, technology, business. As the belief of male dominance still persists these days, notably in orient society, many male employees feel the urge to work hard and become high-achievers, surpassing their female coworkers.

In conclusion, the reasons for increased loads of work vary according to age and gender. However, it is apparent that those motives are influenced by changes in the job market and job prospects for women rather than money.