Today’s low-cost airlines are able to offer fast and cheap travel. However, some people believe this is at a cost to the planet.

Suggest ways that governments and individuals could tackle the environmental impact of low-cost flights.

In recent years, low-cost airlines make air travel accessible to the masses. Nevertheless, it is widely argued that operations of these airlines have a major impact on the environment. This essay will outline possible to the environmental problems that individuals and governments can take to tackle these problems.

One of the main reasons that aviation industry causes great impact on the planet is enormous amount of carbon emissions, which leads to the increasing of air pollution. However, it is not impossible to find effective ways to control the air pollution. Carbon offsetting technique is the easiest way for individuals to solve this trouble. This allows travelers to voluntarily pay for the amount of CO2 emissions that result in their travels. A monetary donation is made which is then invested in green projects that can counter carbon emissions.

Governments could certainly put more effort into reducing air pollution. They could introduce stricter laws to limit emissions from aviation industry or to force airline companies developing a bio-fuel to reduce the dependency on fossil fuels that release carbon. They could also impose 'green taxes' on airlines companies or air passengers. In this way, people would be encouraged to take fewer flights abroad, therefore reducing emissions.

In conclusion, both governments and individuals must play their parts in looking after their planet by donating green projects, limiting emissions and charging the airlines to reduce flights.