Today TV channels provide man s sport show more than women s sport show Why Should TV channel give equal time for women s sport and men s sport

These days, a higher number of games played by men are broadcast, compared to that of women. There are several reasons why man's sport take precedence over women's. This essay aims to discuss them and arrives to a logical conclusion whether or not TV channels give equal attention for both men's and women's sport show.

In terms of the principal reasons behind the unfair priority for men's sport show, the audience is considered to be the most influential factor. A growing number of people have more interest in men's sporting events, outnumbering people watching show of female counterparts. More viewers mean more profits, advertising contracts for TV channels broadcasting the shows. Take football in Viet Nam as a example. Men' football match at 30th SEA games attracted millions of viewers, while the figure for women's match is significantly lower. Therefore, giving the men's sport the priority is the wise strategy for TV channels.

However, I would argue that TV channels should not be biased toward men's sporting events and female athletes should be given more opportunities. If men's sport shows continue to receives significantly more coverage than that shows of the opposite sex, it would lead to gender inequality, which is one of the most serious issue in many countries of the world today. Another thing is that more and more attention would be placed on female athletes in the future; therefore; the TV channels should concentrate on this area in order to ensure their profits as well as gender equality.

In conclusion, the audience is the major factor that contribute to unfair priority for men's sporting events, and I am of the opinion that there should be equality in the coverage of men's and women's sport show.