In today's job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that as the job market is increasingly becoming more competitive, applicants are required to have practical skills instead of theoretical knowledge only. Some people even predict that formal qualifications may not be necessary in the future. This essay is going to demonstrate why I partially agree with the opinion through several following reasons.

First of all, practical skills are much more useful in the working environment. Because they are frequently used on a daily basis, skills like teamwork or critical thinking become the inevitable requirements in every job descriptions. A job interview would be a good example for this. Going into a job interview, the applicants will certainly be asked to describe about their past working experience and the skills they have obtained through it. Since theoretical knowledge only serves as a foundation of knowledge and will be easily forgotten if it is not used frequently, the interviewers will unlikely to ask questions regarding to it and only focus on more practical skills instead.

Second, I disagree with the view that in the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. If the candidates can only describe what practical skills they possess without having any proves to support it, the interviewers would find it difficult to assess their true ability. For example, the types of standardized tests like IELTS or SAT tests are useful tools to showcase one's academic ability, proving to the recruiters that they are well-educated people and have full capability for the job positions.

In conclusion, I would say it is more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge, but we also need formal qualifications to support the skills we have demonstrated in the job interviews.