Topic: Should colleges and universities require students to take physical education classes?

Over the past few decades, physical education has become increasingly important to our lives. However, there remains some disagreement as to whether the physical classes are optional or compulsory. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that physical education lessons should become a required part in university program because of its two obvious benefits.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that physical activities may help students build character and develop personality. For example, participating in football team not only offers students a sense of belonging to a certain group but also develops their own talents. This is because when the students join in sports, they will have opportunities for leadership and socialization as well as the development of skills for dealing with success and failure. Therefore, those who engage in organized physical activities can do better in school and have better interpersonal skills such as cooperation, friendship, and give-and-take.

Equally importantly, physical education can give students a satisfying and enjoyable way to exercise and improve their health. Admittedly, sports not only allow people to clear their minds of academic and social pressure but also run off the tension that is accumulated in their muscles. Hence, students can concentrate on whatever they do better.

On the other hand, making physical education become mandatory in university may confront the difficulty that is economic. Many schools do not have money and, consequently, they can not provide sports facilities or playing fields for their students. Furthermore, some are located in cities where that kind of space is not affordable and available. To tackle this problem, some sports centers may be rented for students when they engage in physical lessons.

To summarize, I once again reaffirm my view that physical education classes should be a mandatory subjects in educational environment because of its positive impact on health and development of benefit skills