Tourism Is One Of The Fastest Growing Industries And Contributes A Great Deal To Economies Around The World. However, The Damage Tourism Can Cause To Local Cultures And The Environment Is Often Ignored. To What Extent Do You Agree Or Disagree?

Despite tourism is an industry expanding all around the world and delivering economic growth, it has been argued by many that, the side effects of large scale tourism has not been considered thoroughly. In my view tourism has many negative consequences on hosting countries that should not be considered negligible.

Tourism brings economic growth to even far remote corners of the world and it should be appreciated but at what cost. Dramatic increase in number of people visiting a particular place have devastating effect on the environment. Every individual traveling to that place have some basic needs for accommodation that should be prepared by locals. Big hotels must be built. Rural roads must be replaced by wide roads for buses and trucks and even hospitals and airports must be constructed. All these changes will cause dramatic alteration in the environment and a considerable amount of air pluttion, noise and deforestation will emerge. As time passes in some places the degree of consequences is so much that the will affect the uniqness and attraction of that particular place in a negative way.

The cultural herritage of a community is an invaluable asset that most of the time will be affected by mass tourism. This danger is so important that in parts of the world governments are passing laws to protect their culture and traditions.

In conclusion, the positive economical points of tourism industry should be evaluated only after considering the negative effects it imposes on environment and culture of local communities.