Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion and water pollution.

Do you agree that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry?

Humans have always desired to travel all over the world in order to broaden their horizons by visiting new places and meeting people of different cultures. An opinion exists tourism should be restricted by authorities due to the fact that this industry contributes to environmental problems and traffic jams. I completely agree with the above-mentioned point of view due to the reasons marked hereinafter.

I strongly believe that the imposing of taxes for foreigners may result in the decline of tourists` rate and, subsequently, to the ecology improvement. It cannot be denied that planes and cars are the most frequently used means of transportation for travelers. Not only do aircrafts produce an enormous volume of air pollutants, but also high density of vehicles leads to traffic congestions. For example, according to the survey conducted by Saint-Petersburg Tourism Academy, the higher airplane ticket price is, the fewer individuals leave the countries they live. Thus, growing the costs of transportation may be one of the keys to the visitors` number limitation.

Furthermore, institution of duties on accommodation and flights is often believed to be one of the most crucial aspects of protection locals from potential medical problems. Travelling between different towns and countries provides an ability for infectious diseases to spread actively. The risk of contracting a viral or bacterial illness is more in places with high density of humans, especially if they are from other areas. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, moving abroad was prohibited to limit the spreading of the disease. Hence, some health problems may be prevented globally by the restriction of travelling to other countries.

To conclude, I am firmly convinced that in order to decline the number of tourists extra taxes on transport and hotels ought to be established. These changes may have a positive effect on the dealing with the issues of heavy traffic as well as pollutions and decrease the risk of being infected.