The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing.

What are the reasons?

What are the impacts?

Nowadays, there is an increasing in tendency that family members do not have a meal together. In this essay, I will examine the reasons why this traditional practice has changed and its effects.

Several causes of a disappearance of family’s meals can be outlined. For one thing, the people’s lifestyle is different from their routines and working schedules. Some companies provide their employees flexible working hours resulting in a variation of the time they have to go to their office. As a result, each family members have a different time of their meals due to a difference in occupations and organizations they work for. What is more, many restaurants with a variety of food types are located in all areas of the city facilitating people’s lifestyle for eating in any places and any time they want. Accordingly, it is more convenient to have a meal nearing office, or places they go. It can be compared to the past that there are less restaurants and people have to go back home for meals prepared by family.

Without a family meals gives a rise to some possible impacts. First, the family’s bond might be weak from less in communication to each other. This is because one of the most important proposes of having a family’s meal is to share experiences, and discuss helping for deep understand in each other. Another effects would be a higher in family’s expenditure due to seperated meals instead of sharing the meals together. Since the restaurants of food providers charge their customers not only the food costs, but also service charges as well as parking fees, the costs are higher in an individual while it could be shared among family members.

In conclusion, in my opinion, I think the reasons why people have their meals without family are mainly caused by their different in lifestyles which could have an impact on a healthy relationship within family member.