traffic

Nowhere in history has the issue been more visible than traffic congestion, which takes place day by day globally. In the following essay, I would like to examine the cause and some feasible solutions to improve the predicament.

The explanation lies in the surge in the usage of private cars in conurbations. As cars now are affordable than it was in the past, more of them become vital possession of people. As a result, people commute by their own cars in peak times, and a large number of car on the road at the same time leads to bottle neck. Besides, one of the factors that is attributed to traffic delays is the out-dated transport system. Most of the roads were built a long time ago, which was designed for a smaller amount of traffic. Moreover, the lack of investment in the form of high-capacity public transport also trigger the issue. Most of the public transports now are not satisfactory enough for workers, who had to while away their time going back and forth to workstation every day.

Regarding potential solutions, the most efficient exemplar is to improve the public transportation quality. One of the main reasons why people prefer travelling by cars is that buses or trains are not convenient enough. Hence, if the government improve the service and applied more routes, people would have less yearnings to cars and opt to use public transports instead. Another plausible resolution which has been proved success in inducing countries, namely Germany and Singapore, that is the imposition in cars taxes. Were the price of cars to become extravagant, private cars would be downgraded.

In conclusion, it seems that the main reasons for transport delays can be credited to the increment in private cars and poor investment towards infrastructure of transport system. Thus, potential solutions would involve the improvement in public transportation and the restraining taxes imposition on cars.