Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

Learning from online courses to get qualifications is now becoming more and more common for young people and it is also approved by most universities and colleges. Going to the classrooms to listen to the teachers’ class seems untoward and ueseless compared with the former so that I think it will wear on.

Distance learning also have its negative aspects. Without excellent regulatory system, students can have more chances to cheat online, so the honesty can not be guranteed. This may cause the qualifications make no sense, and perhaps almost everyone can finish the university studies. This is the most significant and fundamental problem. Also by distance learning, teachers can not effectively inspect the students' course progress, or give them some useful and essential guidance and encouragement. Students also are very confused by their problems which are unable to be solved. If they have questions on the course, it may have a great influence on the following studying contents .

But I think the strong points are overweight the weak points. Online courses means that students can study at home, and can save much time that used to be wasted in traffic. It is also more convenient, because the time for study is more flexible and even can be anytime at anyplace. A survey shows that people spend more than one hour on the way to school or office on average nowadays, so studying on the Internet is undoubted a available solution. This way can also save money. A teacher may teaching thousands of students at the same time, so everyone only needs to afford a little money. More people are accessible to farther education than before.

In conclusion, distance learning is a huge reform and progress in the field of education. I think this trend will keep on developing and become more and more excellent. Maybe one day there will not be any schools.