Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

With the rapid development of medias, all kinds of advertisements have become very common in our daily life. While some people may like them, for they offer some kind of guidance for shopping, others tend to blame them for false publicity. In my opinion, most advertisements are overselling their product. They all use all kind of tricks to make the products look so much better than they really are in order to attract potential buyers.

First of all, most food advertisements are not honest. Most food advertisements we see on TV these days use scenes like a beautiful farm or meadows with sunshine to make the viewers feel that their food is natural and pure, while in fact, all the food is just produced in a factory with machines and has nothing to do with all the beautiful stuff shown in the advertisements. I remember a very old advertisement, using scenes like spring water and glacier melting in the South Pole to make the bottled water they are selling look pure and fresh.But in fact, as I have found out after a trip to their local factory, the bottled water in the commercial is just produced in big tin tank like any other similar water products, which has nothing to do with spring nor glaciers.

Medicine commercials, just like food advertisements, are just other great examples of how modern advertisements mislead their potential customers.I believe that most of us have seen those commercials on TV that someone who’s very sick takes the pills and just shake off all sickness, and becomes all happy and energetic. Those commercials can be very misleading because first of all, as a doctor once told me, there’s no way that someone can shake off his or her sickness in such a short time no matter what kind of pills were taken. Also, taking medicine is a serious thing, requiring a lot of help and direction from doctors.In those commercials, however, taking medicine becomes a simple and happy process. It can really mislead some people, especially young kids, making them taking their medication lightly.

There’s no denying that commercial can be really helpful in helping us to learn something about products on the market, thus making more informative choices when shopping. Howevet, there’s also no doubt that most of the adveritsements are designed to be misleading. We should be aware and try not to be fooled by the lies told in those advertisements.

To sum up, advertisements can be really dishonest these days when it comes to promoting their products, and things are extremely bad in areas like food and medicine. We should be aware of them and try not to be misguided by their lies, while enjoying the convenience and information they bring us.