Universities should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that tertiary instituition should equally enroll number female and male students in all areas of academics. This essay disagrees completely that number of females to be enrolled should be equal to males. It will discuss drawbacks that women encounter as they go up the ladder of life.

Gender biase is the major effect on enrolment of female students at universities.There are some professions dominated by males you can not expect to see equal number of male and females except for few exceptional women. For instance, engineering is dominated by males as the nature of work sometimes require manual dextrity which sometimes we lack as females, so we tend to shun those type of courses.

Biologically, most females attain lower grades in high schools compared to their male counterparts, this leads to few women join challenging courses. For example in medicine and law minimum entry requirements for females is 14 points compared to men which is 15points, they do this to try gender balance which is not attainable as most females will have lower grades already.

Societal roles and expectation plays a huge role in unequality in enrolment of similar number of students both males and females. For example a married female is expected to play a role as a wife, mother or daughter which is accompanied by household chores compared to a male counterpart who will be focusing on his studies only, therefore takingup up a challenging course will not be fruitful for a female hence they are encouraged to take smooth courses.

Despite the mentioned challenges, some people agree that same number of students should be enrolled to promote gender equality. It is als believed hypothically that both men and women has equal strength, therefore they should have equal opportunities.