Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people believe that universities need to have a balanced number of female and male applicants in each course. Personally, I completely do not support such an idea and find it to be unfair.

Firstly, gender should not be a defining factor for taking a specific course in universities. This notion stands out to be unfair and impractical, as there are more important things to consider in a candidate. To explain more, universities have to continue on the traditional process of students acceptance based on qualifications, intelligence level, and how productive they can be in the chosen subject. For example, it is significatly unfair to reject a qualified women in favour of a man with lower grades and qualificaltions. That is why basing university admissions on merits preserves students' rights and opportunities as well.

Another thing is that having equal propotions of students of both genders is kind of impossible and unrealistic. In other words, as preferrence and tendancy play a huge role in choosing university subjects, many courses are more popular with and suitable for one gender than the other. One real life example is taken from the faculty of pharmacology in Damascus university, as the administration reported that the number of female students was way greater than that of the males. Therefore, gender is an unrealistic critirion for candidates' approval in universities.

In conclusion, accepting students in colleges and universities should never rely on equal number of students of both genders, owing to the fact of impractical. Instead, it is more fair to base this procedure on merits.