Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In my opinion, men and women should have the same educational opportunities. However, I do not agree with the idea that every subject should accept equal number of students in both genders.

It would be unrealistic that every subject could attract the same numbers of male students and female students. As we all know, men and women have different preferences when they choose their majors. Generally, men tend to major in subjects which are quite challenging and exciting, such as computer science and electronic engineering, while girls are much more likely to major in some subjects like nursing and finance, which emphasis more carefulness and patience. For example, nursing subject, may need to wait a extremely long time until it attract enough male students, and this process would definitely be time-consuming and have some negative effects on universities' work-flow.

On the other hand, this regulation would lead unfair to some high-grade students. Nowadays, students all over the world choose their subjects mostly based on their own test grades, and it is a general sense that excellent students should be given more opportunities because of their hard-working lives. If subjects are distributed based on students' gender, an idea that hard-working is useless will be spread out, then as the time goes by, people's ambition will be harmed. Finally, I truly believe this measure will have an opposite effect on promoting fairness.

In conclusion, it is unrealistic and harmful to let each subject in universities accept equal amounts of male and female students.