University students should study whatever they like

University students are going to lead different important sectors in few years and hence their education is one of the most important aspects of a country. It is often debated how much freedom they should be given while choosing the subjects and I personally believe that they should have the freedom to pick subjects within a prescribed syllabus, not whatever they like.

To begin with, the freedom of selecting subjects in university level would make the education more effective and would not force students study subjects that they have no interest at all. Though technology related subjects are quite important, students would not learn that much if he is forced to learn programming while his interest is in literature. Thus a student should be given the freedom to pick the subjects he likes, especially for the university students. For instance, many arts faculties in western universities offer students to pick technology related subjects while the reverse is also true.

However, an absolute freedom to pick subjects for the university students is not a good idea as well. This will often lead to situations when students will not have sufficient knowledge on some aspects that are crucial for the career. Some students would misuse this facility and pick the same subjects in different semesters. It will also lead to a haphazard situation as most of the students would like to study the same subjects and the university authority would not be able to offer these courses to all.

To conclude, a certain freedom while picking subjects in university level is very helpful for the overall development and knowledge enhancement of students. However, an absolute freedom would make the outcome worse.