The unlimited use of cars may cause many problems What are those problems In order to reduce the problems should we discourage people to use cars
Having a car has become an essential part of many people's lives. It offers flexibility
to their life and work, and also provides ready access to a variety of services and leisure
options. However, a range of problems have been identified and need to be addressed.
The problems associated with frequent car use are becoming increasingly familiar to
the general public. The widespread use of cars has real environmental costs. Vehicles
are major sources of urban air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. It is reported
that road traffic is the source of one third of all harmful air pollution in the world. Car
exhaust contributes to acid rain, carbon dioxide and lead, which cause global warming
and damage human health. Traffic jam is another problem. As more and more people
drive to work rather than walk, cycle or take public transport, there are heavy traffic
jams almost every day at rush hours. The most serious problem, however, is safety. Car
accidents cause huge numbers of casualties every year.
To solve these problems, some people suggest that the government should impose a
strict restriction on the use of cars, but I do not think this is the best option, because this
would lead to reduced mobility for people and a decline in the car industry. I think a
better solution would be for car manufacturers to design more environmentally friendly
cars, which run on solar power or hydrogen. Also, traffic problems can be alleviated by
building more underground tunnels and parking garages, and safety problems can be
avoided by educating drivers as well as pedestrians to use greater caution on the road.
So, in conclusion, I think that while discouraging the car use might seem a quick
solution to many problems currently facing the society, it is most unlikely to be a permanent
cure.