The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been claimed that due to the technological development and exploration of social media, direct interaction among the human community has been much more limited than it used to be. From a personal perspective, human relationships are indeed negatively affected to a certain extent. Not only do social media users tend to become more distant, but their psychological health may also be at risk.

The first aspect to consider regarding the unappealing features of social media concerns relationships among the human community. It can be observed that thanks to the development of technology, most people nowadays possess their own mobile devices, permitting them to connect with social media easily, which leads people to spend all their time on them. This appears to be the consequence of increasing the distance in society in not only physical angle but also mental ones. For instance, young generations prefer chatting online to having genuine meetings, which limits their ability to express their emotions such as facial expression, body gestures, and tone of voice. As this continuously persists and becomes a habit, maintaining the relationship via verbal communication will turn to hard for citizens.

Another less interesting aspect of social networking being widespread to emphasize is its influence on psychological health. It is important to be aware that the Millennials tend to spend increasingly more time on these networks such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram where they can express their individualistic sense (individualism), and once their opinions are accepted, they will feel empowered. In contrast, should they meet with opposition, a negative thought will be ingrained, which may affect their mentality and lead to bad behavior. For example, constantly drawing criticisms for their way of thinking, humans eventually withdraw from society, which can cause some psychological disorders such as depression and anxiety.

In conclusion, the prominent position that social media has in the interpersonal relationships of humans can potentially result in fragile connections and mindset. In my subjective opinion, each of us should evaluate how much time has been spent in front of a screen instead of friends and loved ones.