The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is irrefutable that social media has revolutionized the way people communicate with each other and in-person interactions of people with the whole community have gradually substituted by the conversation using smartphones or personal computer. From my perspective, while this recent means of connection may have certain advantageous impacts on people's lives, its disadvantages are much more considerable

To initiate, there is a variety of explanation to support the use of social media as a way to interact with each other. One fundamental benefit of communicating online is due to its convenient and time-saving. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that interacting through the electronic screen allowed people to save an enormous amount of time travelling, thereby avoiding harsh weather conditions, traffic congestion and other unnecessary incidents. Furthermore, online communication allowed people to stay in touch with their close-knit ones or held a conference without the difficulties originated from geographical distance and natural or artificial catastrophes. By the way of exemplifying, online conferencing in 2020 has become more prevalent than ever because of the outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic

Nevertheless, the adverse impacts of replacing face-to-face interaction with social media are still somewhat outweighed its plus points due to various reasons set forth below. First and foremost, interacting via the internet are allegedly unable to transmit the messages as straightforward as direct communication. There seems to be evidence that internet connection in some regions is relatively inadequate and therefore, it may end up disconnection in the middle of the conversation. In that case, misinterpretation and hereby conflicts are inevitable. On the second place, using the electronic appliances for a long period during the day is extremely detrimental to human's well-being since it may be the major culprit for several eyes diseases, for instance, nearsightedness or astigmatism

Due to these aforementioned reasons, the advantages of substitution of in-person interaction with the online ones are probably overshadowed when compared to the disadvantages of this replacement