The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The innovation of social media is being concerned largely. There is an opinion that the use of social networking platforms is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. I partly agree with this idea because both of them have their advantage and disadvantage.

Firstly, using technical devices allows people to connect with friends and relatives more easily. Especially, during the Covid-19, many people can not go outside, which increases the utility of social media. However, it still can not replace face-to-face interactions. Communication through technology prevents people from using intimate gestures like hugs, kisses or hand shakings. The abuse of social media can lead to the lack of affection within the community. Sometimes, problems can not be confided through a screen.

Secondly, with the large number of users, using social networking sites helps people in widening relationships. There are many kinds of people and luckily we somehow can find the one who has the same hobbies. On the other hand, this also has potential dangers: being cheated on. It is perilous to meet someone that we do not fully understand. If a stranger wants to chat with you, be careful the motive behind.

Last but not least, chatting or video-calling through social media is convenient. You can use your mobile devices everywhere and every when you like and still be able to connect. Despite this significant advantage, there are still considerable drawbacks. Sometimes, because of disrupted connection system errors, we can not use them for our purposes.

In conclusion, in my humble opinion, communicating through social media and meeting face-to –face are equally important. Depending on specific situations, we could choose a more suitable way to connect with other people.