The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world of digital dominance, it is argued by some that the use of technology in communication, especially social media has a negative effect on the direct interaction among people. In my opinion, the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantage.

It is undeniable that people derive substantial benefits from gaining access to the social networks. Firstly, social platforms using technological devices such as smart phones which gives users countless opportunities to exchange socially. For instance, Facebook, Twitters and Snapchat are platforms which allow people instant messaging opportunities to contact with others regardless of geographical barriers. In addition, it is convenient for those who live far away from their loved ones. Secondly, it is widely used by many which allows marketer to create and distribute quality content. Most marketing companies uses Facebook for marketing, a very powerful tool for any sized business. For example, business managers can easily provide customer service, answer sales question and even upload new brands of the company through social networking service. The efficiency and easy of usage is more productive and hence so widely used than classical face-to-face interaction approach.

However, there are some real drawbacks of communication equipment abuse to direct interaction in real society. In the digital age, with the emergence of social networking websites has led people to replacing the traditional way of interaction with electronic ones. For example, it is common to see many youngsters make virtual friend online via Facebook or Snapchat instead of gathering at a small shop for their meeting. This can result in social withdrawal in the long run. Nevertheless, the onus is on the parents to limit the usage of these devices by getting children enrolled in extra curricular activities such as sports and be responsible to make time for family gathering to enhance human interactions.

In conclusion, I believe that the use of technology for communication is going to surge due to its enormous benefits. It is advisable that people should take into consideration that living away from digital devices is not realistic in this digital era. Thus, people must make the right choices to manage the use it right rather than losing control over usage.