The users of social media such as Facebook Twitter are replacing face to face contact in this century Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages

Some people subscribe to the belief that the conventional way of communication has undergone a tremendous change, whereby replacing with social media. While there seem to be positive developments involved, various negative implications stem from this too which outweigh positive ones.

To commence with, the high contingency reason based on a positive development is the issue of the ubiquity of social media facilitating communication, especially for those residing in far-flung areas. Simply put, social media allows people to keep in touch with their family and friend at ease while geographical borders are not insurmountable barriers anymore. A good illustration of this is clearly delineated by expatriates who contact their family members that they are able to keep grounded to their root and emotional intimacy. Another conceivable major positive effect is dwindling the unemployment rate due to creating new job opportunities as we can see in the online stores. In such situations, the argument goes that it is bound to promote career prospects, hopefully leading to ameliorating the issue of joblessness. It in turn might improve people's quality of life as well as life satisfaction.

Turning to the drawbacks of the development, it appears likely that communicating via social media has a profoundly deleterious effect on people's interpersonal skills, thereby impinging on their communicative ability. The more individuals immerse on social media, the less their communication capabilities develop, meaning yielding social interaction impairments and losing an ample of opportunities. For example, if one participates in a job interview via social media, it is highly likely that job seeker will miss putting a positive first good impression to employers and not seize the job opportunity. Furthermore, people may addict to social media and get themselves lost in a visual world. This in itself plays a key role in cutting people off society, leading to social ostracism.

To conclude, while acknowledging the substantial role of social media in making better the communication and job problems, it appears to be problematic not only in making social interactions but also being obsessed with it.