The uses of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Real interaction is being replaced by the uses of social media . Although doing this has several drawbacks, the advantages of it are far more significant.

There are some minor downsides of replacing face-to-face contact with social media. One disadvantage could be that online communication usually lacks eye contacts or facial expression, which may lead to some misunderstanding. As a result, they may not have a deep understanding of each other, which can negatively affect their relationships. Another disadvantage worth mentioning when using social media is that people can talk to strangers that they do not know anything about. This increases the risk of falling victim to cybercrimes and

However, the replacement of using social media can have some benefits which overshadow these negative impacts. Firstly, using media platforms enables people to remove geographical barriers in communication . Especially for overseas students, they can keep in touch with their long-distance friends and their family members. This can help them to strengthen the bond with each other, which encourages them to overcome the problem of loneliness and homesickness. Secondly, multinational companies can hold online discussions, which allows employees at different branches in the world to exchange their ideas without the need of physical travel. In this way, they can boost mutual understanding and therefore work more effectively.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantage that the replacement of social media can bring, it still does more good than harm.